My thoughts on Kingdom of the Crystal Skull (spoilers)

Since I’m writing science fiction, with a little bit of the whole Roswell conspiracy angle thrown in, I thought I would take the time to post what I thought of how George Lucas and Steven Spielberg approached it in the movie. If you haven’t seen the movie, then this contains some spoilers.

I saw it last week and I was looking forward to it, since I thought the “Last Crusade” was a pretty good movie. Too bad “Kingdom of the Crystal Skull” came 10 years too late. If they had made this movie before everyone started being crazy over conspiracy theories and Roswell in particular, this movie would have been much more original. Overall, the story was entertaining, but, I must say I’ve seen the same story in variations on TV and in other movies. Stargate SG-1, for example, covered the Crystal Skull angle a little over 4 years ago, along with the Roswell thing with the Asgard and a rogue Asgard scientist who conducted the experiments on humans. Not only that, the only difference between the Stargate movie and this Indiana Jones movie was the fact that it was in Peru and not Egypt, and those aliens influenced Peruvian culture and not the Egyptians.

The City of Gold angle was recently covered in “National Treasure 2: Book of Secrets” and I think they did a much better job of storytelling. Although, I thought putting a whole city of gold inside Mount Rushmore was a big stretch. Next thing you know, in the 3rd movie, Solomon’s treasure is hidden underneath the Alamo! If they continue the Indiana Jones franchise with the son, then replace Shia LeBouf with someone else who can at least pretend to know how to act.

Anyway, as someone who wants to write science fiction and write a litte about Roswell myself, it just shows me there’s not really much that is new under the sun, and I think Spielburg and Lucas just wanted to cash in on the story with their own movie. Kind of reminds me of Star Wars 1-3, Lucas just wanted more money, and ripped out a really lame backstory to Darth Vader. He should of just let it alone.

Just my .02 cents, take it for what its worth.

2 thoughts on “My thoughts on Kingdom of the Crystal Skull (spoilers)

  1. Enjoyed your article. I’m a Sci-Fi fan as well. Although, I have to say I am hooked on Battlestar Gallactica. I don’t know if you follow this series, but I think it really is one of the best shows around. My all time favorite Sci-Fi enjoyment was a very short run TV Series called “Space – Above and Beyond” that ran on Fox for about a season and a half.

    Since you are interested in Roswell and possibly Area 51, you should think about visiting the area. A few years ago, I followed the old Rt 66 highway (most of it is now interstate) on a trip to Phoenix and I found some of the old inns and gas stations abandoned and eerie. Parts of the region are off the beaten path, and I have to admit, at night it can prickle the hair on the back of your neck.

    I’m a technical writer with no talent for fiction, but I wish you luck and I’ll see if I can find your novel. I consume several Sci-Fi books a year. (As I get older, I seem to sleep more and read less at night.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

