Marketing and all that Jazz

Since having my novella published, I’ve discovered just how hard it is to get noticed by readers. There are so many science fiction authors out there and just authors in general that the market is probably saturated with un-read books. I’ve done the whole online marketing thing, since that is where everybody seems to be these days. I have a profile on myspace, created an ad on facebook to get people here, and I’ve created a profile on every site that I can find that has readers on it, like goodreads.com or librarything.com, places like that. I’m trying to up my presence on Amazon.com where my novella is being sold, since Barnes and Noble doesn’t really have any kind of features that Amazon has. 

I’ve tried google adwords for marketing myself and my novel, but I actually found that all you’re doing is wasting money and not making any, so I stopped that particular campaign and tried doing a facebook campaign. I’ve had more people visit my site in the last two weeks than I had in the previous month. I decided to target everyone on facebook, not just a particular reader of a particular genre, I’ve had quite a few people click on one of the links for my novella.  I really don’t like the idea of having to spend money to make money, but that’s the culture we live in, what are you going to do.

I created a forums page, like other author websites, so people can discuss what they think I’m doing wrong with my novella or what they liked about it. I even have a thread for a Q&A with me, along with favorite movie and book threads.  So, if you’ve read my novella, please don’t hesitate to post there, or just post for the heck of it.

You can find some of my other short stories, poetry, and articles here: http://www.helium.com/users/360400

One thought on “Marketing and all that Jazz

Leave a Reply

